top of page
Search
  • Charlotte Murphy

Reflecting on my Travels

Updated: Jan 1, 2022

Covid-19’s restrictions mean I’ve been dreaming of venturing out into the world again. I have been so lucky to travel in the past, so thought I’d take the time to reflect upon these experiences for a little escapism. It is almost two years since I was fortunate enough to visit the Philippines. The trip was incredibly inspiring- I got to discover the most exquisite food, meet beautiful people, and take in breath-taking scenery.



I stayed in the province known as Liliw in Laguna- famous for its handcrafted sandals (there’s actually a sandal festival that takes place each year!). There, I was able to visit the Ai-She Footwear factory. Speaking with Cora the talented owner and designer of all things Ai-She, I learned so much about the handcrafted sandals industry. Seeing shoes being made in the local workshop was incredible- the rope used on their espadrilles is even made from locally sourced palm tree fibers!


The vast collection of shoes ranged from flat sandals to incredibly high-heeled espadrilles, and all designs featured real celebration of colour and materiality. Each design was executed with such care and attention to detail. It is no surprise that Miss Universe’s Catriona Gray visited the store as part of her aim to bring local hand made businesses to the global stage.



I wanted to take as many sandals home as physically possible- and even had the opportunity to make my own pair. I was quite slow and clumsy on the production line, as expected when working with incredibly skilled craftsmen, but I still wear my hand-made espadrilles with pride- even though they are a little wonky...



18 views0 comments
bottom of page